written by Jean-Charles Morisseau and Mathieu Palain

From one 9/11 to another

Why a book?

ob_de42b9_couv-11-sept-lansman.jpg

Theatrical creation, because it is alive, is an ephemeral art. As soon as the Théâtre de la Ville triumph is digested, as soon as everyone's pride is swallowed up, September 11, 2001 is an adventure that blends into the past. The writing of this book is part of the September 11 project to extend the pleasure over 300 pages, to come back to the miracle represented by this ephemeral company.

 

The memories are intense but fade over time.

Director Guy Girard filmed everything. Or almost everything. But the film cannot speak of all subjects and its length has led to cuts.

The book is a way of telling the whole story, from the genesis to the performances, including the work in school and behind the scenes. To discuss all the characters: the author, the director, the students but also the professional actors, the teachers, the associations.

The book also provides an opportunity to reflect on the experience and draw useful conclusions for other projects.

“Here I am in this classroom with all these strangers who present me with a project about which I still do not know anything. They each speak in turn, smiling, hoping to convince me. I listen to them talk (…). But I feel like it will take a lot of work and I don't know if I will be able to. It's like a great internal fight between my laziness and my desire to participate in this project. I don't know who will be the winner. "

- Moussou,

high school student in Aulnay-sous-Bois

The authors
Photo-11S-1130.jpg

Jean-Charles Morisseau

AVT_Mathieu-Palain_3735.jpg

Mathieu Palain

Mathieu Palain dreamed of being a footballer or a PE teacher; Florence Aubenas' book, La Méprise, will guide him towards journalism. Perhaps also because he was once a kid angry with the media after seeing them tumble through his suburbs like one goes to war.

 

When he hears about this project developed in the 93, he will not hesitate for a moment to capture its echoes and especially to closely follow the work of these young people not predestined to get on stage.

Passionate about theater and an entrepreneur, like Michel Vinaver, he initiated and co-produced the September 11, 2001 project.

 

Having shared the joys and fears of all those involved in this adventure, he wanted to tell the episodes and describe its many facets. Theater is for him a vector of progress and communion between individuals which transcends ages, genres and economic and social categories.

A great traveler, living alternately in Paris and New York, he is passionate about the cultural differences of the many regions he visits. A naive outlook, without academic pretension, amateur but curious, benevolent and enthusiastic in front of the diversity and the beauty of the world.

écrit par Jean-Charles Morisseau et Mathieu Palain

D'un 11 Septembre à l'autre

Pourquoi un livre ?

ob_de42b9_couv-11-sept-lansman.jpg

La création théâtrale, parce qu'elle est vivante, est un art éphémère. Sitôt le triomphe du théâtre de la Ville digéré, sitôt la fierté de chacun avalée, 11 septembre 2001 est une aventure qui se conjugue au passé. L'écriture de ce livre participe du projet 11 septembre pour en prolonger le plaisir sur 300 pages, revenir sur le miracle qu'a représenté cette compagnie éphémère.

Les souvenirs sont intenses mais s’estompent avec le temps. 

Le réalisateur Guy Girard a tout filmé. Ou presque tout. Mais le film ne peut pas parler de tous les sujets et la durée a obligé à des coupes.

Le livre est une façon de raconter toute l’histoire, de la genèse aux représentations, en passant par le travail à l’école et en coulisses. De raconter tous les personnages : l’auteur, le metteur en scène, les élèves mais aussi les comédiens professionnels, les professeurs, les associatifs.

Le livre permet aussi de réfléchir à l’expérience et d’en tirer des conclusions utiles pour d’autres projets.

« Me voilà dans cette salle de classe avec tous ces inconnus qui me présentent un projet dont j’ignore encore presque tout. Ils parlent chacun à leur tour en souriant, en espérant me convaincre. Je les écoute parler (…). Mais j’ai l’impression que ça demandera beaucoup de travail et je ne sais pas si j’en serai capable. C’est comme un grand combat intérieur entre ma fainéantise et mon envie de participer à ce projet. Je ne sais pas qui sera le vainqueur. » 

—  Moussou,

lycéen à Aulnay-sous-Bois

Les auteurs 

Jean-Charles Morisseau

Mathieu Palain

Mathieu Palain rêvait d'être footballeur ou prof de sport ; le livre de Florence Aubenas, La Méprise, le guidera vers le journalisme. Peut-être aussi parce qu'il fut jadis un gosse en colère contre les médias après les avoir vu débouler dans sa banlieue comme on va à la guerre.

 

Lorsqu'il entendra parler de ce projet développé dans le 93, il n'hésitera pas un instant à en donner des échos et surtout à suivre de près le travail de ces jeunes que rien ne prédestinaint à monter sur les planches.

Passionné de théâtre et chef d’entreprise, comme l’était Michel Vinaver, il a initié et co-produit le projet 11 Septembre 2001.

 

Ayant partagé les joies et les peurs de tous les acteurs de cette aventure, il a souhaité en raconter les épisodes et en décrire les multiples facettes. Le théâtre est pour lui un vecteur de progrès et de communion entre individus qui transcende les âges, les genres et les catégories économiques et sociales.

Grand voyageur, habitant en alternance à Paris et à New York, il est passionné par les différences culturelles des nombreuses régions qu'il visite. Un regard naïf, sans prétention académique, amateur mais curieux, bienveillant et enthousiaste devant la diversité et la beauté du monde.