Photo-11S-73.jpg

directed by Guy Girard

From one 9/11 to another

Synopsis

Documentary trailer

In the film From one 9/11 to another, director Guy Girard follows high school students from Seine-Saint-Denis who discover the scene with Michel Vinaver's play on the attacks of September 11, 2001, ten years later. 
 

From September 11 2001 by Michel Vinaver, collage of lyrics from the event, the director Arnaud Meunier and the choreographer Rachid Ouramdane propose, on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of the attacks in 2011, to create this play at the Théâtre de la Ville in Paris with five professional actors and high school students from three 11h grade classes, from three different institutions in Seine-Saint-Denis

 

Since the start of the 2010 school year and throughout that year, they have been working together on Michel Vinaver's text, written in the weeks following the destruction of the Twin Towers, with the desire to question this major event at the start of the 21st century and to question its current impact, conscious or unconscious, for young people who were 7-8 years old at the time and come from very diverse social, cultural and religious origins.

The film directed by Guy Girard follows these high school students, who have no theatrical experience and most of whom did not know each other at the start of the year. From the first meetings to present the project to the students until the performance on the stage of the Théâtre de la Ville on September 11, 2011, including the weekly workshops in each high school, weekends and weeks of rehearsals during the holidays schools where everyone comes together around a common goal, all the major stages of this adventure are filmed.

 

Gradually, personalities emerge and assert themselves; new issues are emerging; and a story is written on the fringes of the theatrical project in order to emancipate itself from it. This film tells all this with infinite benevolence without obscuring the moments of tension that cross this artistic and human encounter with the backdrop of the attacks of September 11, 2001.

The director: Guy Girard
AVT_Guy-Girard_6379.jpg

Guy Girard is a director and photographer. He has been evolving in the French and international cultural landscape since the 1980s. Born on July 31, 1950, he notably worked as a technical assistant at the HLM office in Vitry-sur-Seine, truck driver in Martinique, fisherman in corail in the Mediterranean, bookseller in Paris, photographer, film editor and, finally, director.

He has made about sixty films of various formats by carving out three furrows: portraits of artists; observational documentaries that explore French institutions; and experimental films akin to poems or essays.

A word from the director

On the one hand, high school students, girls and boys, who are going for the first time in their lives to star in a play that will be presented at the Théâtre de la Ville in Paris. On the other side, theater or dance enthusiasts who instigate this adventure. In the middle, a terrible attack that continues to haunt us. It is in the context of this face to face that the film will be played. In this place, between politics and poetry.

Seine-Saint-Denis is a department where, more than elsewhere perhaps, the difficulties of our society in crisis appear in a harsh and abrupt light. Far from underestimating them, this film tries not to reproduce a frozen and cursory image of the suburbs. It highlights the dynamism and vitality of his youth, with its concerns, its contradictions, its weaknesses and its hopes.

This is what I want to film, taking advantage of the great trust that the director Arnaud Meunier and the teams associated with this project have placed in me from the start. All the doors of high school workshops, rehearsals and preparatory meetings are wide open to me, which allows me to apprehend, according to my desires and my instinct, the stages of this formidable human adventure.

Thanks to this complicity and this intimacy, this film has its own autonomy, its own rhythm, its own sensitivity. It is a unique opportunity for me to be able to follow the hundred students who participate in the weekly workshops under these conditions. In the end, about fifty of them will perform the play. We will see the individualities emerging, those who carry a particular grace in them. We will see how a group is forged; how, through discussion, the reflection of these adolescents on September 11, 2001 is questioned.

The roles are not chosen but a large part of the high school students will play the choir. A choir in motion. A thousand miles from a classical children's choir. I will film these bodies taken in moments of beauty. I will focus on those who give us chills. With the hope that a miracle will occur. What attracts me is that this is not a commemoration but a projection into the future. This film will work on reflection, the critical and sensitive part.

Guy Girard
Generic
Director: Guy Girard

Associate producer: Jean-Marc Giri
Associate producer: Jean-Charles Morisseau

Artistic advisor: Fabien Spillmann
Image: Laurent Fénard
Sound: Laurent Rodriguez and Yolande Decarsin

Format: XDCAM HD Video
Shooting: September 2010 - September 2011
Places: Seine-Saint-Denis - Paris - Saint-Étienne

Partners:

Compagnie de la Mauvaise Graine (Arnaud Meunier and Karine Branchelot)

Citoyenneté Jeunesse (Jean-Michel Gourden)

Voillaume high school, in Aulnay-sous-Bois

Jean Renoir high school, in Bondy

Evariste Galois High School, in Noisy-le-Grand

Photo-11S-73.jpg

réalisé par Guy Girard

D'un 11 Septembre à l'autre

Synopsis

Bande annonce du documentaire

Dans le film D'un 11 septembre à l'autre, le réalisateur Guy Girard suit les lycéens de Seine-Saint-Denis qui découvrent la scène en jouant la pièce de Michel Vinaver sur les attentats du 11 septembre 2001, dix ans après.

 

À partir de 11 septembre 2001 de Michel Vinaver, collage de paroles issues de l’événement, le metteur en scène Arnaud Meunier et le chorégraphe Rachid Ouramdane proposent, à l’occasion du dixième anniversaire des attentats en 2011, de créer cette pièce au Théâtre de la Ville à Paris avec cinq comédiens professionnels et des lycéens issus de trois classes de première, de trois établissements différents en Seine-Saint-Denis

 

Depuis la rentrée 2010 et tout au long l’année scolaire, ils travaillent ensemble sur le texte de Michel Vinaver, écrit dans les semaines qui ont suivi la destruction des Twin Towers, avec la volonté de questionner cet événement majeur du début du XXIème siècle et de s’interroger sur son impact actuel, conscient ou inconscient, pour des jeunes qui avaient 7-8 ans à l’époque et sont d’origines sociales, culturelles et religieuses très diverses.

 

Le film réalisé par Guy Girard suit ces lycéens, qui n’ont aucune expérience théâtrale et qui ne se connaissaient pas pour la plupart en début d’année. Depuis les premières réunions de présentation du projet aux élèves jusqu’à la réprésentation sur la scène du Théâtre de la Ville le 11 septembre 2011, en passant par les ateliers hebdomadaires dans chaque lycée, les week-ends et les semaines de répétitions pendant les vacances scolaires où tous se retrouvent réunis autour d’un objectif commun, toutes les grandes étapes de cette aventure sont filmées.

 

Au fur et à mesure, des personnalités se dégagent et s’affirment ; des enjeux nouveaux se dessinent ; et une histoire s’écrit en marge du projet théâtral pour s’en émanciper. Ce film raconte tout cela avec une infinie bienveillance sans occulter les moments de tension qui traversent cette rencontre artistique et humaine avec en toile de fond les attentats du 11 septembre 2001.

Le réalisateur : Guy Girard

Guy Girard est réalisateur et photographe. Il évolue dans le paysage culturel français et international depuis les années 1980. Né le 31 juillet 1950, il a notamment exercé les métiers d’adjoint technique à l’Office HLM de Vitry-sur-Seine, de camionneur en Martinique, de pêcheur de corail en Méditerranée, de libraire à Paris, de photographe, de monteur de film et, enfin, de réalisateur.

 

Il a réalisé une soixantaine de films de format divers en creusant trois sillons : des portraits d’artistes ; des documentaires d’observation qui explorent des institutions françaises ; et des films expérimentaux s’apparentant à des poèmes ou des essais.

Un mot du réalisateur

D’un côté, des lycéens, filles et garçons, qui vont pour la première fois de leur vie jouer dans une pièce de théâtre qui sera présentée au théâtre de la Ville à Paris. De l’autre côté, des fous de théâtre ou de danse qui suscitent cette aventure. Au milieu, un attentat terrible qui continue de nous hanter. C’est dans ce face à face que le film va se jouer. À cet endroit-là, entre politique et poétique.

La Seine-Saint-Denis est un département où, plus qu’ailleurs peut-être, les difficultés de notre société en crise apparaissent dans une lumière crue et abrupte. Loin de les mésestimer, ce film s’efforce de ne pas reproduire une image figée et sommaire de la banlieue. Il met en avant le dynamisme et la vitalité de sa jeunesse, avec ses inquiétudes, ses contradictions, ses fragilités et ses espoirs.

C’est ce que je souhaite filmer en profitant de la très grande confiance que le metteur en scène Arnaud Meunier et les équipes associées à ce projet m’accordent depuis le début. Toutes les portes des ateliers en lycée, des répétitions et des réunions préparatoires me sont largement ouvertes, ce qui me permet d’appréhender, selon mes désirs et mon instinct, les étapes de cette formidable aventure humaine.

Grâce à cette complicité et à cette intimité, ce film a sa propre autonomie, son propre rythme, sa propre sensibilité. C’est pour moi une chance unique de pouvoir suivre dans ces conditions la centaine d’élèves qui participent aux ateliers hebdomadaires. À l’arrivée, ils seront une cinquantaine à jouer la pièce. On verra ressortir les individualités, ceux qui portent en eux une grâce particulière. On verra comment se forge un groupe ; comment, à travers la discussion, est interrogée la réflexion de ces adolescents sur le 11 septembre 2001.

Les rôles ne sont pas choisis mais une large partie des lycéens joueront le choeur. Un choeur en mouvement. À mille lieux d’un choeur classique d’enfants. Je filmerai ces corps pris dans des moments de beauté. Je m’attarderai sur ceux qui foutent le frisson. Avec l’espoir qu’un miracle survienne. Ce qui m’attire, c’est qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une commémoration mais d’une projection vers l’avenir. Ce film va travailler la réflexion, la part critique et sensible.

Guy Girard
Générique
Réalisateur : Guy Girard

Producteur délégué : Jean-Marc Giri
Producteur associé : Jean-Charles Morisseau
 

Conseiller artistique : Fabien Spillmann
Image : Laurent Fénard
Son : Laurent Rodriguez et Yolande Decarsin

Format : Vidéo HD XDCAM
Tournages : septembre 2010 – septembre 2011
Lieux : Seine-Saint-Denis – Paris – Saint-Étienne

Partenaires :

Compagnie de la Mauvaise Graine (Arnaud Meunier et Karine Branchelot)

Citoyenneté jeunesse (Jean-Michel Gourden)

Lycée Voillaume, à Aulnay-sous-Bois

Lycée Jean Renoir, à Bondy

Lycée Évariste Galois, à Noisy-le-Grand