Photo-11S-19.jpg

An educational and cultural journey

At the heart of the high schools of Seine-Saint-Denis

“From one 9/11 to another” is conceived as a journey that includes an artistic practice inseparable from the cultural and educational journey, since the two components feed off each other.

They are 16 or 17 years old, they live in Seine-Saint-Denis, they are high school students in 11th or 10th grade in three high schools in the department: the Voillaume high school in Aulnay-sous-Bois, the Jean Renoir high school in Bondy and the Évariste Galois high school in Noisy-le-Grand.

Three institutions with different sociologies which reflect the diversity and richness of a region that is usually stigmatized because of its difficulties.

In each of these establishments, the teaching teams have joined forces with the head of the establishment to allow these high school students, through artistic and cultural work, to open up to the world of today, to question it, but also to take part in it.

 

Citoyenneté Jeunesse is working with teachers on a cultural path that opens up high school students to a wide range of knowledge about this event. The cultural course offers a different approach to current events and history and gives them the means to go beyond academic knowledge, to “associate” with different points of view, to get out of a black and white vision of the world. One of the objectives of this predominantly theatrical project is to articulate a long-term reflection on the whole of society and its humanity.

At the end of the journey, “From one 9/11 to another” takes the students to the stage of a large theater stage. Where experimentation will be the opportunity to activate creative potentials that will allow them to be individuals better prepared to face life, citizens with a sharp critical mind, adults.

Citoyenneté Jeunesse
Citoyenneté Jeunesse is an artistic and cultural education association founded in 1987 which deploys its activities in the artistic, cultural and civic field towards the young people of Seine-Saint-Denis. For more than twenty years, Citoyenneté Jeunesse has enabled young people to experiment, experience and reflect on art actively and thus cultivate their intelligence, sensitivity and critical thinking.

Field expertise at the service of National Education

 

This experimentation is carried out mainly in the form of artistic and cultural projects carried out over time. These courses bring together the transmission of knowledge through school, cultural life and artistic creation in the Île-de-France region, as well as learning about citizenship and living in society. The projects are not prefabricated, Citoyenneté Jeunesse develops them in close collaboration with the teaching team to nourish, during the school year, a practice, a reflection, a discovery. The association seeks in fact to find the meeting point between the teaching approach of the teachers and a proposal of "pedagogy of the detour". A project is nourished by meetings, visits, shows, artistic and cultural practices so that students can experiment, experience, reflect but also dream and invent.

One goal: to fight for equal opportunities

Citoyenneté Jeunesse operates in a context of social inequalities. Its initiatives are aimed at correcting them in the cultural field. Its actions in the field promote access for all to the world of art and culture.

Working on the sidelines
Photo-WE03B-011.jpg

A great living author, a director recognized and present in the world, a passionate, fascinating and poetically committed choreographer, a strong and magnificent text which, if it activates the memory, is entirely anchored in the present ...

 

These are the elements of a project which aims to move from good conscience to conscience.

 

The writing of Michel Vinaver, of which Arnaud Meunier says that it "intrigues, makes you curious, makes you want to know more" resonates in echo with the essential missions of Citoyenneté Jeunesse to offer to the young people of Seine-Saint-Denis , thanks to the artists, an opening on the world and the means to take their place there.

I enthusiastically welcome Arnaud Meunier's desire to go and meet this youth, the bearer of a fervor and energy that is often hidden.

Our ambition is to mobilize the “tools” of art and culture so that the interpretations of the world made by artists are subjects of questions, reflections, debates, I was going to write of democracy.

 

We want to inscribe the ephemeral of artists in the long term, to inscribe the fragments of their evocations in coherence.

 

Arousing, welcoming and providing possible ways to structure the expression of the desire and emotion of youth is an integral part of our responsibility. We all know that when the desiring machine crashes we pay dearly.

 

To give to see, to hear, to reflect the work of the interpretation of the meaning. Perhaps that is the challenge today.

 

To follow cross roads with high school students to tackle the major issues that make sense for them but also for us, is to have the audacity to think that fiction helps us to think about reality.

So we work a little on the edges ... of programs, school practices, timetables, the usual knowledge of the school, we work on the margins but with the awareness, as Jean-Luc Godard said, that it is margin that holds the text.

 

Jean-Michel Gourden, director of the Citoyenneté Jeunesse association

"Michel Vinaver's text prevents our students from having the feeling that theater texts are far from them or do not concern them. Contemporary theater is, before all, questioning today's issues with today's language. What I hope for? That the participation in this project changes their life! And in any case, that it gives them a strong feeling of existence and a new ambition. "

- Marie-Laure Basuyaux,

Literature teacher at Lycée Voillaume, Aulnay-sous-Bois

Partner high schools

Three classes of 11th grade, in three high schools, in three different cities of Seine-Saint-Denis, participate in the project "From one 9/11 to another"

Lycée Évariste Galois - Noisy-le-Grand (62,000 inhabitants)

Principal Mr. Ricci


Multipurpose high school (general and technological education, vocational education, BTS classes). Opened in 1992, with the architecture of an ocean liner, it welcomes students from very diverse origins and sees this diversity as an asset. The class chosen for the project is a 1ES class, a section a priori particularly interested in current events, history and social sciences. The 34 students who do not yet know each other very well come from different second grade classes (25 girls and 9 boys). In addition to the school work which will be partially organized around September 11 and the play by Michel Vinaver, students will be offered a certain number of cultural outings, and to make them think about the fundamental role of culture in the perception of the world that surrounds us.

Lycée Jean Renoir - Bondy (53,300 inhabitants)

Principal Mr. Nasari


General and technological high school, with 1,800 pupils from 6th grade to BTS classes, with around 250 staff members. The school recruits from five middle schools located mostly in ZEP or sensitive area. For four years, the interdisciplinary and team work around annual educational projects has taken root in Jean Renoir within the framework of the experiment initiated by the IEP Paris in 2005. Each year, classes are enrolled in projects around theater. The project “From one 9/11 to another” is a continuation of the work accomplished in high school. The chosen 11th grade class (1ES) has 24 students and 8 people from the teaching team are involved in this project. It can be used at all levels in the different disciplines (history, French, languages, EPS and economic and social sciences) with views and lessons in several voices. Part of the work will be evaluated for the bac as part of the Supervised Personal Work (coefficient 2). The theme addressed in Michel Vinaver's play will give rise to debates and develop a critical mind on events and the treatment of information in the media.

Lycée Voillaume - Aulnay-Sous-Bois (81,600 inhabitants)

Principal Mr. Tomasi


Founded in 1962, the Voillaume high school now accommodates nearly 2,000 students in a school complex which brings together a general and technological high school and a vocational high school. Classified as a “Sensitive school” and “Violence prevention zone”, the school strives to meet several challenges. The first is to offer a diversified and quality training to students who have the choice between fifteen different baccalaureate degrees and to students who can continue their post-baccalaureate studies in BTS (in industrial and tertiary fields) or in DCG (Diploma of Accounting and Management). Recently, the school opened an L section (literary) as well as History of Arts and Cinema-Audiovisual options. The second challenge is to succeed in creating a real ambition in pupils from 75% of disadvantaged socio-professional categories. The numerous partnerships that the Lycée Voillaume has concluded with Grandes Écoles or cultural institutions play a large part in this, whether they are those oriented towards the sciences (with the École des Mines, the Association Tremplin-ENS Ulm, the Lycée Saint-Louis) or towards the arts (with the Louvre, the Claude Monet Art School, the Forum du Blanc-Mesnil, etc.).

Generic

With: the teaching teams of the three establishments
In charge of the general coordination of artistic workshops: Nathalie Matter

Citoyenneté Jeunesse
Director: Jean-Michel Gourden
Partner Relations Officer: Sabrina Benhamouche
Project managers: Carolina Cordova, Aurélie Leprette and Claire Jarreau

Photo-11S-19.jpg

Un parcours éducatif et culturel

Au cœur des lycées de Seine-Saint-Denis

« D’un 11 septembre à l’autre » est conçu comme un voyage qui comprend une pratique artistique indissociable du parcours culturel et pédagogique, puisque les deux volets s’alimentent mutuellement.

Ils ont 16 ou 17 ans, ils habitent la Seine-Saint-Denis, ils y sont lycéens en classe de première ou de seconde au sein de trois lycées du département : le lycée Voillaume à Aulnay-sous-Bois, le lycée Jean Renoir à Bondy et le lycée Évariste Galois à Noisy-le-Grand.

Trois établissements aux sociologies différentes qui rendent compte de la diversité et de la richesse d’un territoire d’ordinaire stigmatisé en raison de ses difficultés.

Dans chacun de ces établissements, les équipes pédagogiques se sont mobilisées avec le chef d’établissement pour permettre à ces lycéens, par le biais d’un travail artistique et culturel, de s’ouvrir au monde d’aujourd’hui, de le questionner, mais aussi d’y prendre part.

 

Citoyenneté jeunesse élabore avec les enseignants un parcours culturel qui ouvre les lycéens à des connaissances multiples sur cet événement. Le parcours culturel offre une approche différente de l'actualité, de l'histoire et leur donne les moyens de dépasser le savoir académique, de « fréquenter » des points de vue différents, de sortir d'une vision manichéenne du monde. L’un des objectifs de ce projet à dominante théâtrale est d’articuler une réflexion de longue haleine, sur la société toute entière et son humanité.

Au bout du voyage, « D’un 11 septembre à l’autre  »  emmène les élèves sur le plateau d’une grande scène de théâtre. Là où l’expérimentation sera l'opportunité d’activer des potentialités créatrices qui leur permettront d’être des individus mieux préparés à affronter la vie, des citoyens à l’esprit critique aiguisé, des adultes.

Citoyenneté jeunesse
Citoyenneté jeunesse est une association d’éducation artistique et culturelle fondée en 1987 qui déploie ses activités dans le champ artistique, culturel et citoyen en direction des jeunes de la Seine-Saint-Denis. Depuis plus de vingt ans, Citoyenneté jeunesse permet aux jeunes d’expérimenter, d’éprouver et de réfléchir l’art de manière active et de cultiver ainsi leur intelligence, leur sensibilité et leur esprit critique.

Une expertise de terrain au service de l'Éducation nationale

 

Cette expérimentation se conduit principalement sous la forme de projets artistiques et culturels effectués dans la durée. Ces parcours mettent en relation la transmission des savoirs par l’école, la vie culturelle et la création artistique du territoire de l’Île-de-France ainsi que l’apprentissage de la citoyenneté et de la vie en société. Les projets ne sont pas préfabriqués, Citoyenneté jeunesse les élabore en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe pédagogique pour nourrir, l’année scolaire durant, une pratique, une réflexion, une découverte. L’association cherche en effet à trouver le point de rencontre entre la démarche pédagogique des enseignants et une proposition de « pédagogie du détour ». Un projet se nourrit de rencontres, de visites, de spectacles, de pratiques artistiques et culturelles pour que les élèves puissent expérimenter, éprouver, réfléchir mais aussi rêver et inventer.

Un objectif : la lutte pour l'égalité des chances

Citoyenneté jeunesse exerce son action dans un contexte d’inégalités sociales. Ses initiatives s’appliquent à les corriger dans le champ culturel. Ses actions sur le terrain favorisent l’accès à tous au monde de l’art et de la culture.

Travailler en marge
Photo-WE03B-011.jpg

Un grand auteur vivant, un metteur en scène reconnu et présent au monde, un chorégraphe passionné, passionnant et poétiquement engagé, un texte fort et magnifique qui, s'il active la mémoire, est entièrement ancré dans le présent...

 

Il y a là les éléments d'un projet qui ambitionne de passer de la bonne conscience à la conscience.

 

L'écriture de Michel Vinaver, dont Arnaud Meunier dit qu'elle « intrigue, rend curieux, donne envie d'en savoir plus » résonne en écho avec les missions essentielles de Citoyenneté jeunesse d'offrir aux jeunes de la Seine-Saint-Denis, grâce aux artistes, une ouverture sur le monde et les moyens d'y prendre leur place.

J'accueille avec enthousiasme l'envie d'Arnaud Meunier d'aller à la rencontre de cette jeunesse-là, porteuse d'une ferveur et d'une énergie bien souvent occultés.

Nous avons pour ambition de mobiliser les « outils » de l'art et de la culture pour que les interprétations du monde faites par les artistes soient sujets d'interrogations, de réflexions, de débats, j'allais écrire de démocratie.

 

Nous voulons inscrire l'éphémère des artistes dans la durée, inscrire les fragments de leurs évocations dans de la cohérence.

 

Susciter, accueillir et donner des chemins possibles pour structurer l'expression du désir et de l'émotion de la jeunesse est partie intégrante de notre responsabilité. On sait tous que lorsque la machine désirante s'enraille on le paie cher.

 

Donner à voir, à entendre, à réfléchir le travail de l'interprétation du sens. C'est peut-être cela le défi aujourd'hui.

 

Suivre avec des lycéens des chemins de traverses pour aborder les grandes questions qui font sens pour eux mais aussi pour nous, c'est avoir l'audace de penser que la fiction nous aide à penser le réel.

On travaille donc un peu en marge... des programmes, des pratiques scolaires, des horaires, des savoirs habituels de l'école, on travaille en marge mais avec la conscience, comme le disait Jean-Luc Godard, que c'est la marge qui tient le texte.

 

Jean-Michel Gourden, directeur de l'association Citoyenneté jeunesse

"Le texte de Michel Vinaver évite que nos élèves aient le sentiment que les textes de théâtre sont loin d’eux ou ne les concernent pas. Le théâtre contemporain, ce sont avant tout des questions d’aujourd’hui dans une langue d’aujourd’hui. Ce que j’en espère ? C’est que la participation à ce projet change leur vie ! Et en tout cas, qu’elle leur donne un fort sentiment d’existence et une ambition nouvelle."
 

—  Marie-Laure Basuyaux, 

professeur de Lettres au Lycée Voillaume, Aulnay-sous-Bois 

Les lycées partenaires

Trois classes de Première, dans trois lycées, dans trois villes différentes de Seine-Saint-Denis, participent au projet « D’un 11 septembre à l’autre »

Lycée Évariste Galois – Noisy-le-Grand (62 000 habitants)

Proviseur Monsieur Ricci


Lycée polyvalent (enseignement général et technologique, enseignement professionnel, classes de BTS). Ouvert en 1992, à l’architecture de paquebot, il accueille des élèves d’origines très diverses et vit cette mixité comme un atout. La classe choisie pour le projet est une classe de 1ES, section a priori particulièrement intéressée par l’actualité, l’histoire, les sciences sociales. Les 34 élèves qui ne se connaissent pas encore très bien, viennent de différentes classes de seconde (25 filles et 9 garçons). Outre le travail scolaire qui sera partiellement organisé autour du 11 septembre et de la pièce de Michel Vinaver, il sera proposé aux élèves un  certain nombre de sorties culturelles, et de les faire réfléchir au rôle fondamental de la culture dans la perception du monde qui nous entoure.
 

Lycée Jean Renoir – Bondy (53 300 habitants)

Proviseur Monsieur Nasari


Lycée général et technologique, cité scolaire de 1 800 élèves de la 6ème aux classes de BTS, avec environ 250 membres du personnels. Le lycée recrute sur cinq collèges situés pour la plupart en ZEP ou zone sensible. Depuis quatre ans, le travail en interdisciplinarité et en équipe autour de projets pédagogiques annuels s’est enraciné à Jean Renoir dans le cadre de l’expérimentation initiée par l’IEP Paris en 2005. Chaque année, des classes se sont inscrites dans des projets autour du théâtre. Le projet « D'un 11 septembre à l'autre » est dans la continuité du travail accompli au lycée. La classe de 1ES choisie a 24 élèves et 8 personnes de l’équipe pédagogique sont engagées dans ce projet. Il est exploitable à tous les niveaux dans les différentes disciplines (histoire, français, langues, EPS et sciences économiques et sociales) avec des regards et des cours à plusieurs voix. Une partie du travail sera évaluée pour le bac dans le cadre des Travaux Personnels Encadrés (coefficient 2). Le thème abordé dans la pièce de Michel Vinaver donnera lieu à des débats et développera l’esprit critique sur les événements et le traitement de l’information dans les médias.

Lycée Voillaume – Aulnay-Sous-Bois (81 600 habitants)

Proviseur Monsieur Tomasi


Créé en 1962, le lycée Voillaume accueille aujourd’hui près de 2 000 élèves au sein d’une cité scolaire qui regroupe un lycée général et technologique et un lycée professionnel. Classé « Lycée sensible » et « Zone de prévention violence », le lycée s’attache à relever plusieurs défis. Le premier consiste à proposer une formation diversifiée et de qualité aux élèves qui ont le choix entre quinze baccalauréats différents  et aux étudiants qui peuvent poursuivre leurs études post-bac en BTS (dans les domaines industriels et tertiaires) ou en DCG (Diplôme de comptabilité et de gestion). Récemment, le lycée a ouvert une filière L (littéraire) ainsi que les options Histoire des Arts et Cinéma-Audiovisuel. Le deuxième défi est de parvenir à faire naître une véritable ambition chez des élèves issus à 75 % de catégories socio-professionnelles défavorisées. Les nombreux partenariats qu’a conclus le lycée Voillaume avec des Grandes Écoles ou des institutions culturelles y participent largement, qu’il s’agisse de ceux orientés vers les sciences (avec l’École des Mines, l’Association Tremplin-ENS Ulm, le lycée Saint-Louis) ou vers les arts (avec le Louvre, l’École d’Art Claude Monet, le Forum du Blanc-Mesnil, etc.).


 

Générique

Enseignants et proviseur du lycée Évariste Galois à Noisy-le-Grand : Christine Morel, Danièle Labadie, Valérie Chevalier et Silvano Ricci  

Enseignants et proviseur du lycée Voillaume à Aulnay-sous-Bois : Marie-Laure Basuyaux, Mohammed Nabi, Antoine Branthomme, Cécile Garnier, Caroline Abiven et François Tomasi

Enseignants et proviseur du lycée Jean Renoir à Bondy : Muriel Tiano, Didier Karkel, Géraldine Mars, Hélène Cumin, Philippe Destelle, Denise Revire, Magalie Roussel et Fernand Nasari 


Chargée de la coordination générale des ateliers artistiques : Nathalie Matter

Citoyenneté jeunesse
Directeur : Jean-Michel Gourden
Chargée des relations avec les partenaires : Sabrina Benhamouche
Chargées de projets : Carolina Cordova, Aurélie Leprette et Claire Jarreau